The Corrupt Blue Line

You never know from day to day what tomorrow might bring.
You could go from prosperity, to losing everything.
A turn of events, though unexpected could change your life forever.
We all say “It won’t happen to me,” but trust me don’t say never.

I have to tell Cherise’s story. You might find it hard to believe.
But when you understand the truth, I’m sure that you will grieve
A magnificent girl of poise and beauty, she really had it all.
Education and a good job, but then there came the fall.

One night while driving home from work about two years ago,
The L.A. Sheriffs stopped Cherise. Why? We just don’t know.
There was no reason then or now or for what else they did do.
They beat Cherise and tortured her, till she was black and blue.

Was that the end? No my friend. The abuse was oh so wrong.
To protect themselves from prosecution, they sang a different song.
They made up lies that they were attacked, that force was necessary.
At one hundred and ten pounds, she’s just really not that scary.

For two long years they’ve drug this out, to disrespect her name.
She lost her job and lives in fear, and for this they show no shame.
To keep from crossing “The Corrupt Blue Line” her life they would destroy.
No remorse for what they had done, they live their lives in sinful joy.

In and out of court for months, Cherise has been made to go.
Now she waits for the judge to decide and finally let her know.
Will the judge be biased? or will justice at last prevail?
Justice says the crooked cops should all spend time in jail.

Through it all, I must say, I’ve really been impressed.
Cherise has kept her head up high while facing every test.
Always worried, always scared, but seldom letting on.
Jumping all the hurdles placed, meeting everyday head on.

I know she has shed a million tears, and believe me so have I.
You’d have to be a LA. cop or worse if it didn’t make you cry.
Whatever happens from here on out, I’m going to place my bet.
With God’s help, Cherise will prevail; she’ll be the winner yet.

Written by: Nick Devisa

05/17/09

