I never really went into detail about how my employment with the Los Angeles Police Department was cut short due to that powerful code  ‘ALL Police stick together.’

When this incident occurred, I was a LAPD Civilian Employee, assigned to PACIFIC STATION as a Clerk Typist.  My job duties included typing all the police reports/tickets and entering them into the computer system giving them report numbers, preparing the paperwork for court, and distributing them to the different departments that needed them.

Prior to the incident on  April 6, 2007, I had no problems with police at all.  I worked directly with them for 40 hours out of the week. So what happened to me that night totally threw me through a ringer.  One day I had total respect for the law & the next it totally went down the drain.

It wasn’t enough that I got ‘beat’ physically by Sheriff deputies & Inglewood Police, but LAPD basically ‘beat’ me emotionally, financially & mentally as well!  As I stated I was a LAPD employee at the time of incident, just having got off at 1 that morning, from which my shift was 3:30 PM-1 AM. I got pulled over at 1:30 AM and that’s when my life changed forever!
When I was placed in jail that morning, LAPD’s Internal Affairs, came to visit me and proceeded to get a statement from me about what had just happened.  I was amazed at the fact they already knew I was in jail…word traveled fast because it was only 8 hrs after my arrest that they were there to see me.

Not realizing at the time that they were against me, I gave a voluntary recorded statement without my union rep present because I knew I didn’t do anything wrong.  I told them exactly what had just happened to me…my nightmare experience & they took pictures of me and my injuries.  After this they took AWAY my work badge and told me I was being placed on PAID ADMINISTRATIVE LEAVE until a further investigation took place and was completed.

I was in shock…. & just that quick I was not working…That night was the last time I ever got to physically work at a LAPD station because 9 months later, on MARTIN LUTHER KING’S BIRTHDAY, January 15, 2008,  I was called by the sergeant at the station and told I was being DISCHARGED from my employment for my UNBECOMING CONDUCT on that night. He told me I needed to come down there by 3pm and get my discharge papers.

That hurt so bad…I cried all the way to the station and cried at the station and cried after I left the station.  I couldn’t believe they fired me and I hadn’t even went to trial yet.  The 5 charges I had against me were still pending at the time of them letting me go, but they felt that through their investigation I was guilty of all the accusations formed against me.

To be continued………

